Where In The World …

Where In The World …

… Is Hawkeye?

Hawkeye is currently in Telluride, Colorado. He has pulled off the trail due to illness. Stand by for more details to come concerning return to the Desert to Mountains trail.

345 Miles Completed – 655 To GoHawkeye

Friday, June 4-
Hike on hold. Hawkeye became dehydrated and had a bad belly last week. He initially thought he had Giardiasis but not the case. Debbie drove down to bring him home for recovery last weekend. He is doing better now and will return to the trail for fish camp next week.
I’m forced to leave the trail here and return to Telluride to recover from health issues related to heat and dehydration that have plagued me for the last few days.

Toaster house porch shoes. “Take a pair, leave a pair”

Time for Hot Shower

Thursday, June 3-
Toaster house gate Pie Town,NM. A donation based hostel for CDT bikers and hikers. Nita, Toaster house owner raised five children here and lives nearby. She remembered me from 2003 and pulled out my picture.

Time for Hot Shower

Wednesday, June 2-DaVilla ranch, donation based rest stop for CDT hikers. Kitchen, shower, shower and flush toilet.

Exiting the Canyon


Thursday, May 27-Middle fork Grotto. Leaving the canyon. Snow lake low water. Six Moon Designs Fusion 65 backpack and Skyscape Trekker tent.

Where There’s Smoke …

Wednesday, May 26-Middle fork trail. Middle fork grasses. Fractured canyon wall. Middle fork pools. Canyon water. Beating the smoke from West fork fire.

The First Hot Springs

Tuesday, May 25- Starting the smokey middle fork of the Gila River. Jordan hot springs.

A Little Greener

Monday, May 24- Doc Campbell’s Post in Gila Hot Springs.
Gila Hot Springs RV-Park.
Ranchers and dogs drove in horses for two hours of grazing.

Some Color

Sunday, May 23- CDT-hiker, Blast.

First week on trail completed!

Friday, May 21 – Looking forward to a day off in Silver City tomorrow. Alternate trail down this wash. I was surprised to see Debbie at the bottom of the wash.

Starting to Climb

Thursday, May 20 – Leaving the low desert behind. Foothills of the Gila National Forest. Javalinas having fun!

Final day in the Southern Desert

Wednesday, May 19 – “Blitz” from Germany. He is headed to Canada and his Triple Crown. Last of the desert. Discount laid down and didn’t get up.

… and on.

Tuesday, May 18 – Headed for Pyramid peak.

The trail goes on ….

Monday, May 17 – Lunch break.

Staying Cool

Saturday, May 15 – Whole lotta nothing. Desert oasis along the trail. Home is where the van is.

The Beginning

Friday, May 14 – Crazy Cook Monument, New Mexico. The most southern point on the Continental Divide Trail.


Your gift of any amount WILL make a difference in the life of a disabled athlete! Donate online or better yet send us a check TODAY.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *